WXYC Chapel Hill, NC 89.3FM – Monday 3:00-6:00pm ET – www.wxyc.org

WXYC Saturday, August 9, 2008 1:25-3am

The Give-a-Guy-a-Break show:

9/8/8 01:25-03:00

Just a quick half show for the guy who signed up in order to give the usual 12-3am guy a break, but who also suddenly realized that *he* was due to come back in for a 9am-noon shift and wasn’t gonna get any quality sleep at all, and really didn’t want to stay awake for 9+ more hours. I knew I was prolly gonna be awake, and really didn’t have anything important to do, except eat, which I very much needed to do. I went home, ate 21 grams of protein in 220 calories, digested it enough to be able to bike back, and sent him off when I arrived.

It was only an hour and a half, but maybe that was enough to let him catch a couple winks. The 8-10am, 10am-noon and 9am-noon shows have always been the slots I’ve found the hardest to maneuver, in general, so empathy is the keyword.

In other news, if you are someone who usually writes to me at a yahoo email address, I’ve forgotten my password (!) and haven’t been able to get in for over a week. If you only have a yahoo email address for me, you should resend anything you’ve sent to the been-there.com addie that’s on the home page of this blog. If you do *not* write me via a yahoo email address, you are already in touch with me: carry on.

Holy crap! Holy crap! Holy crap!

Talk about your South Congaree flashbacks! Lookit wut our current dj’s playin’

talkset
Neil Young Revolution Blues On the Beach Reprise
Lynyrd Skynyrd Whiskey Rock-n-Roller Nuthin’ Fancy MCA

… I gotta go see if maybe we’ve acquired something in the library! hold on a sec…

Holy crap! Holy crap! Holy crap! It’s here!

Will he play it? Let’s see! hold on another sec…

YES!!!

lookit now!1!!:

talkset
Neil Young Revolution Blues On the Beach Reprise
Lynyrd Skynyrd Whiskey Rock-n-Roller Nuthin’ Fancy MCA
Drive By Truckers Ronnie and Neil Southern Rock Opera Lost Highway
Tony Scheuren Southern California Brings Me Down Good-bye Pop epic

*****SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA BRINGS ME DOWN*****
is now officially a bona fide member of the WXYC sound library!

Woo-hoo!

WOO-HOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!11!1!11!!!

♪ Topanga Canyon freaks ♪ won’t ♪ see ♪ me ♪ around no ♪ mo-o-o-o-o-r-r-r-e ♪ ♪

Yep. I’m gonna be hittin’ that up soon during this summer Friday 6-9pm shift I be doin’. Next week? Maybe. We’ll see. Wow. Wow. This changes *evvvv*ree-thing!

Currently listening:
“My Last Meal”
His Best
By:
Jimmy Rogers
Release Date: September 16, 2003

 

Leave a Reply

