WXYC Chapel Hill, NC 89.3FM – Monday 3:00-6:00pm ET – www.wxyc.org

[(Change) We Need] ≠ (Barack) | Barack ≠ Change | (Barack + Change) = Ø

The following is the direct result of hanging out, all night, in the radio station, talking to one of our newbies about everything from the sameness of Barack/Biden to Bush/Cheney (you *know* they physically look very much alike as couples go, and they’re even structured the same: Cheney offering the “experience” and respectability to Bush’s campaign, back in the day when they were constructing that 2000 ticket, exactly the role Biden now plays to the Barack ticket), to the late Bob Sheldon, and Internationalist.

A few specifics which demonstrate why Barack is *not* an agent for change:

1.  HR 6304

2.  This one, which involves the role Rev. Wright serve(s)/(d) in Barack’s life, requires some math, and subsequent deductive reasoning:
a.) “I can no more disown him than I can disown the black community. I can no more disown him than I can my white grandmother … These people are a part of me. And they are a part of America, this country that I love.” March 18, 2008

b.) “What became clear to me is that he was presenting a world view that contradicts who I am and what I stand for … What we saw yesterday out of Rev. Wright was a resurfacing and, I believe, an exploitation of those old divisions. Whatever his intentions, that was the result. It is antithetical to our campaign. It is antithetical to what I am about. It is not what I think American stands for. And I want to be very clear that moving forward, Rev. Wright does not speak for me. He does not speak for our campaign. I cannot prevent him from continuing to make these outrageous remarks.” April 29, 2008

c.) “When Mr. Obama won his Senate seat in 2004, Mr. Wright was the first person he thanked by name in his acceptance speech. Just over two years later, he invited Mr. Wright to speak at his presidential announcement but withdrew the invitation at the last moment for fear of controversy over statements Mr. Wright had made in sermons, according to an interview last year with Mr. Wright.” N.Y. Times, June 1, 2008

a + b + c = absolutely untrustworthy and thoroughly deceitful behavior with regards to his friends.
Barack says, “I can no more disown him…” in March; less than 2 months later, his withdrawal of membership in Trinity Church after 20+ years. 

…and let’s not leave my math open to limbaugh-esque interpretations. The reason why this makes Barack untrustworthy is because he completely and publicly betrayed someone he likened unto family.  There’s nothing new in that.  That’s not change.  That’s BUSINESS AS USUAL.  If Wright were truly a beloved member of the extended family, in my book, Barack would have maintained his relationship with Wright and the church.  I’m not shocked by Wright’s sermons, never have been.  That Barack would cut and run over this does not make me feel like he’s now a better American.  It causes me to feel like he’s in this 100% for himself, to hell with whomever he may have known or how close they may have been before; he’ll dump whomever he has to, pal around with whomever he’s supposed to, anything just to get into office.

3.  Alice Palmer.

4.  Barack relentlessly dodges queries into these, as well as other trust-busting choices he has made; he does not take responsibility for his involvement, and where he can’t blame someone else, he outright ignores legitimate probes to what happened.

…how on earth can so many people *not* see that this is NOT change, at all?  This is SOS, same old shit.  Just like George W. Bush who has never been able to admit launching us into war was the wrong course, Barack likewise is incapable of owning his own foilbles.  That is NOT change…

I didn’t vote for the Republican entity, George W. Bush, and I won’t vote for this repackaged Democrat version of the same man.

Aides on his staff joke amongst themselves about how he’s been giving the exact same speech for more than 10 years, from back when he was crafting his successful shafting of Palmer. They were capable of mouthing the words at the 2004 Democratic Convention, and they laugh, even now, about how many times he can trot out that same old speech and virtually no one seems the wiser.

Despite his campaign rhetoric, Barack is not offering something different from the administration currently sitting in the White House. OK, I concede he is offering the flavor, “Democrat.” That is different from “Republican.” Nevertheless, soured milk is just as sour, no matter how much nor what specific shade of food coloring one may add to it.

I’m ready for everyone to stop kidding themselves this is the most important election ever. The most important US election of the past 50 years was the one held in 2000, and collectively, the U.S. citizenry completely fucked that up. Pretending this 2008 election is somehow going to hold more consequence is an outright pathetic display of denial.

 

 

 

…did ya notice how Mars made it easier to type voluminous paragraphs for a topic with which I’m impassioned? and perhaps how the Mercury square Jupiter fed my argumentative streak today?

OK, I needs to go home and get a wink here or there… I’m coming back to do a 21:00-midnight show tonight… gotsta sleep sometime, I reckon.

Leave a Reply

