WXYC Chapel Hill, NC 89.3FM – Monday 3:00-6:00pm ET – www.wxyc.org

WXYC Wednesday, January 20, 2010 6-8am

and today, my last sign-up of the break, die heilige 6 bis 8 Uhr:

20/01/10 06:00-08:00

So, my throat ain’t right. 

I’m not feeling especially sick anymore, but I can’t get my voice where it belongs, although it’s not like I’m hoarse, or laryngetic.  More like the the vocal folds are “tight.”  Verengt?  Let me check my deutsches Wörterbuch… That’s the adjective in my head… Naja, sehr verengt… Vielleicht nicht eine “normale” Adjectiv für Stimmungbeschreibung, aber “verengt” is how my speaking feels and sounds to me. 

Or maybe the term is exactly right?  The last time a foreign word just popped into my head to describe something out of the clear blue, it was a surprise memory all the way back from high school: Latin.  The word: “Canicula.”  Now that I know what it is, again, I really shoulda known my brain had it correct at the start, but at the moment, it was “where on earth did that word come from, and why am I thinking it?”  The handy-dandy Latin-English dictionary I’ve had since high school is way faster than any online search b.s., and when I looked up “canicula,” I burst out laughing because it was precisely and exactly the correct word… my subconscious firing on all 12 cylinders, even if my conscious mind is a tad sketchy.  One of probably a gazillion direct examples one experiences in a lifetime of the first response being the correct response.

Anyways, I knew my voice was “verengt” before I got here, so I brought/used lozenges, but it didn’t help.  Hopefully, this is just the final bit of microbial clinging, and things will be settled in come Friday 19.

And all that metal was really not my doing, though I am not apologizing.  I suppose I *coulda* split up the rotation tracks with non-metal non-heaviness, but 7:20am?  Man, it’s time to get yr ass outta bed, already.  I took it as the will of the Necrowizard. 

I think it was teh will of Orcustus that I play “Dead Babies” after their tune…  I was all wanting to play “Halo of Flies” but made the last second switch, then as I was entering the info for the flowsheet, I actually *saw* the cover of the Orcustus CD:


…now ya know why I’m thinking about subliminal recall!  As I was entering the flowsheet data, I finally saw the image I’d been blindly looking at for quite some time, and it totally caught me off-guard… 

“…so *that*’s why I decided I oughta to play Dead Babies!”

It’s a fact.  Them Orcustus dudes are very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, *very* grim.  I am absolutely certain they have blaspheming necroyetis engraved in their frostbitten necrobobsleds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Free Visitor Maps
Free Visitor Map

Leave a Reply

