WXYC Chapel Hill, NC 89.3FM – Monday 3:00-6:00pm ET – www.wxyc.org

WXYC Friday, October 22, 2010 7-9pm

!  Look!   Just down there!  It’s Richard’s setlist!

 

22/10/10 19:00-21:00

 

Hey, whaddaya know, I’m on this after I’ve done the show, and can comment accordingly… It’s actually about 7:40am Saturday, but this thing is lie-dated as per usual.

Tonight there were highs and lows, but the highs were most altitudinous, and the lows weren’t anywhere near the bottom. 

The thing I brought in from home, Negative Format, elicited a call, which was sweet affirmation.  I’m still kind of surprised we don’t have any Negative Format in the station’s library.  No idea if that’s gonna change, but I got another couple tunes to go through from this Moving Past The Boundaries CD that was released in 2005. Next week, for sure, and prolly the week after, too.

Got a call about that Actress tune, “Maze.”  It’s on their new CD, Splazsh

 

“Maze” has several video game samples (like the coin “pings” and the jump “pwoits” from Super Mario Bros.), mixed with this really neat, slightly dark-sounding electronic loop. 
(Link on image=comprehensive album info, link on text=”Maze,” so you can get an idea what it sounds like, if you don’t already know.)

 

Got another call to tell me I nailed the Foom>Actress>Four Tet>Pim Pom set just after 8pm.  I *thought* it sounded pretty good, as I was doing it, but I never know till I get home and listen to it later, so thanks ferda call.

 

Even though I didn’t have any GBV tickets

Guided By Voices

FRI, OCT 22

  Guided By Voices music

  Sweet Apple music

Doors: 8:30PM

Show: 9:15PM

SOLD OUT

$27

to bestow on you guys—that *would* have been pure gallus—I did have a pair for Caltrop & Fin Fang Foom at Nightlight, and those got grabbed in righteous fashion.

                                                                                                    …and best of all, I got outta da radio station, lightnin’ quick, mon, had time to change and get a late dinner, and still catch ******ALL****** of Fin Fang Foom and Caltrop at Nightlight!  If there’s one thing I totally love, it’s a late show, man. 

Caltrop, melting faces on a different night, in a different venue, but you get the idea.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Free Visitor Maps
Free Visitor Map

Leave a Reply

