WXYC Chapel Hill, NC 89.3FM – Monday 3:00-6:00pm ET – www.wxyc.org

WXYC Friday, January 7, 2011 6-9pm

OMG!!!  They’ve taken away the soda machine?????????????????????:

 

7/1/11 18:00-21:00

 

Yes.  They *have* taken away the soda machine.

 

Shortly after entering the Frank Porter Graham Student Union, things turned *very* scary for your caffeine-deficient WXYC dj tonight.  Richard had been banking on that soda machine from the moment the door closed, leaving home, on the way to the radio station. 

“It’ll be OK,” I thought.  “I don’t have time to stop by the grocery store, but there’s always that nasty old Pepsi machine on the 2nd floor in the stairwell.  Diet Pepsi won’t kill me.”

…or maybe it will! …if it’s not there at all!!!1!
WTF!!?!?!?!!’1/!/1/?
Where’s the machine???????????????????????
OMG OMGOMGOMGHOMOHOMMHOOoooooh Nooooooooooooooooooo!

Yes, boys and girls, Richard was afraid.  *Very* afraid.

I owe a tremendous debt of gratitude to The Ayatollah of Rock-n-Rollah, WXYC’s very own DJ Andyman, who was a rapid first-responder, on the scene with the required diet Coke almost at the speed of light.  Talk about c^2.   Andy you are awesome!  I mean, awesome-above-awesome, world-without-end awesome. 

One of our loyal listeners, Jim, is next in line for hails of salutation, praise, honor, and appreciation.  Jim braved unfamiliar terrain amidst the most brutal buildings of UNC, successfully delivering a cache of 3 different caffeinated, diet sodas: diet Coke (YES!), diet Dr. Pepper (hmmm, haven’t had one of those in awhile), and some form of diet Pepsi (some other stranded dj may enjoy this).  At the time of their arrival, I was unaware just how “low” on bubbly, caramel-colored caffeine I was.  It’s not unusual for me to go through nearly 2 liters in a show, so that extra diet Coke was definitely a goner, regardless.  I was a little surprised, however, that I did seem to “need” the diet Dr. Pepper, too. 
Jim, if you ever read here: !*******Thank*******You*******! 
Your trek ’round the bricks was worth it!   I shudder to think how that Neville Brothers request may have landed without your inestimable gift of synaptic fuel.  You are wonderful and awesome. 

So, I haven’t listened to it, yet, but in case it’s not clear, I believe Andy & Jim saved us all from a more Gilliganish three-hour-tour this evening.  Circumvented a gruesome clash between the Skipper and Mrs. Howell, if you will.

…yes, I *was* having the thought, “I know I can’t really call 911 about this, but maybe they’ll answer the phone at the regular campus police number, and maybe one of the officers is making rounds down in the basement…”  I’m sure that call would not have gone well.  Thanks fer saving me, fellas!

 

…and as always, thanks fer callin’, thanks fer lissnin’! 

 

 

                                                                                                

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Free Visitor Maps
Free Visitor Map

Leave a Reply

